Beyond The Classroom

We believe learning happens best in the context of relationship. Our faculty spend countless hours—both inside and outside the classroom—to serve as professor-mentors, not just teachers. Through close, coaching relationships, you’ll go beyond the classroom, getting not only the knowledge you need but also the wisdom to apply what you’re learning in practical ways.

Karen Hummel
Chair, Department of Psychology
Chair, Professional Studies Psychology
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., California School of Professional Psychology
Email: khummel@vanguard.edu
KJHummel2006
Claudia Degelman
Associate Professor of Psychology
M.A., Eastern Nazarene College
Email: cdegelman@vanguard.edu
Claudia Degelman 2004
Douglas Degelman
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Email: ddegelman@vanguard.edu
Douglas Degelman 2012
Noreen Dulin
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
Email: noreen.dulin@vanguard.edu
NoreenDulin2006
Julie Howard
Associate Professor of Psychology
Psy.D., Rosemead Graduate School of Psychology
Email: jhoward@vanguard.edu
Julie Howard
Elizabeth S. Powell
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Psy.D., Azusa Pacific University
Email: elizabeth.powell@vanguard.edu
Ludmila Praslova
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., The University of Akron
Email: lpraslova@vanguard.edu
Carl Renold
Professor of Gerontology
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Email: crenold@vanguard.edu
Carl Renold 2006
Michael Hanna
Email: michael.hanna@vanguard.edu