The Department of Religion faculty represent many years of academic and ministerial experience both in the United States and abroad. Our faculty are sought after speakers at conferences and seminars; are published authors; and are editors of globally recognized Journals in the areas of Pentecostalism, missiology, leadership studies and theology.

 

Resident Faculty

April Wesbrook, Ph.D.

April Wesbrook, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Religion and Professor of Old Testament

awestbrook@vanguard.edu
714-966-6353

Greg Austring, Ph.D.

Greg Austring, Ph.D.

Professor of Intercultural Studies, Religion and Ethics, Director of Graduate Religion, and Chair, Professional Studies, General Education

gaustring@vanguard.edu
714-966-6344

Sheri Benvenuti, Ph.D.

Sheri Benvenuti, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Social Ethics

sheribenvenuti@vanguard.edu
714-966-6354

Roli Dela Cruz, Ph.D.

Roli Dela Cruz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of New Testament

roli.delacruz@vanguard.edu

Willem H. Dogterom, D.Min.

Willem H. Dogterom, D.Min.

Professor of Pastoral Ministries and Chair, Professional Studies in Religion

bdogterom@vanguard.edu
714-966-6350

Roger D. Heuser, Ph.D.

Roger D. Heuser, Ph.D.

Professor of Leadership Studies

rheuser@vanguard.edu
714-966-6348

Richard Israel, Ph.D.

Richard Israel, Ph.D.

Professor of Old Testament

richard.israel@vanguard.edu
714-966-6343

Frank Macchia, Th.D.

Frank Macchia, Th.D.

Professor of Theology and Editor, PNEUMA: The Journal of the Society for Pentecostal Studies.

fmacchia@vanguard.edu
714-966-6347

Douglas Petersen, Ph.D

Douglas Petersen, Ph.D

Margaret S. Smith Distinguished Professor of World Missions and Intercultural Studies

dpetersen@vanguard.edu
714-966-6351

Edmund J. Rybarczyk, Ph.D.

Edmund J. Rybarczyk, Ph.D.

Professor of Systematic Theology

erybarczyk@vanguard.edu
714-966-6345

Gary J. Tyra, D.Min.

Gary J. Tyra, D.Min.

Professor of Biblical and Practical Theology

gtyra@vanguard.edu
714-966-6346

Emeriti Faculty

Jerry Camery-Hoggatt, Ph.D.

Jerry Camery-Hoggatt, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Narrative Theology and New Testament

jerrych@vanguard.edu

David G. Clark, Ph.D.

David G. Clark, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of New Testament
William C. Williams, Ph.D.

William C. Williams, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Old Testament

Adjunct Faculty

  • CASEAREZ. Tommy: Developing a Christian Worldview and Christian Heritage
  • ESTRADA, Rodolfo: Christian Heritage
  • FESSLER, Brenton: Introduction to Youth Ministry and Foundations of Christian Life
  • GRAY, Arthur: Old Testament Survey
  • GROENBECH-DAM, Marc: New Testament Survey and Foundations of Christian Life
  • HICKS, Richard: New Teatament Survey
  • JACKSON, Alicia: Old Testament Survey
  • JAY, Sarah: Christian Heritage
  • SCOTT, Sarah: Introduction to Christian Formation & Discipleship
  • SIM, John: New Testament Survey
  • STEFAN, Crinisor: Christian Heritage and New Testament Survey
  • YOUNG, Tim: Practicum: Student Leadership