Student Awards 2011

2011 Anth/Soc AwardsCongratulations to the recipients of the following Department of Anthropology & Sociology Awards!

2011 Outstanding Student in Anthropology: Andrea Tsahavidis

2011 Outstanding Student in Sociology:  Christian de Glymes

Andrea and Christian are pictured here with Dr. James Huff, Chair of the Anthropology & Sociology Department.

Congratulations also go to two Anthropology Majors who received the 2011 Provost’s Award for the highest GPA in the Junior Class:  Natasha Fish and Katie Heemstra.

Students Present at Spring Colloquium

Two students from the Department of Anthropology & Sociology were selected to present their outstanding research papers at the 22nd Annual Social Sciences Spring Colloquium on April 18, 2011 at Vanguard University.  Cierra Wallace, Anthropology Major, presented “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea: A Look at Communication on Cruise Ships,” and Eric de Roulet, Sociology Major, presented “Gender as Represented in Mother’s and Father’s Day Sermons.”

Students present at Research Conference

2011 Santa ClaraTwo Sociology majors presented their research papers on April 9, 2011 at the 38th Annual Western Departments of Sociology and Anthropology Undergraduate Research Conference at Santa Clara University.  Eric DeRoulet presented his research “Gender Roles and Stereotypes as Represented in Mother’s and Father’s Day Sermons.”  Stephanie Kroeker presented her research “In Good Times and in Bad: An Exploratory Study of Faith-based Counsel and Survival Strategies.”  Eric and Stephanie are pictured with Cricket Clarke, wife of faculty-sponsor, Ed Clarke.  Congratulations Eric and Stephanie!

Students Inducted into Honor Societies

Anth-Soc Inductees 11-16-10Congratulations to 20 students who were inducted into honor societies in a ceremony on November 16, 2010.

Inducted into Lambda Alpha, the National Collegiate Honor Society for Anthropology, were Savanna Court, Leigha Delgado, Amy Dorr, Mark Gutierrez, Sarah Heirendt, Andrea Tsavahidis, Cierra Wallace, and Morgan Webster.

Inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta, the National Honor Society for Sociology, were Tiffany Chase, Eric de Roulet, Priscilla Good, Mark Gutierrez, Brynne Harned, Ryan Kenney, Stephanie Kroeker, Kailee Olson, Chelsee Reeder, Rebecca Richardson, Larissa Stanley, and Tiffany Wong.